translate current request (locale part in url)

How to configure and adapt Aimeos based shops as developer
Forum rules
Always add your Aimeos and PHP version as well as your environment (Linux/Mac/Win)
margeslt
Posts: 6
Joined: 18 Aug 2018, 17:18

translate current request (locale part in url)

Post by margeslt » 28 Jan 2019, 14:33

Hello.
Does aimeos support multilingual url in locale selector?
For example, site have 3 language
english
deutsch
spanish

In test product I setting url:
seo-url-english-name
seo-url-deutsch-name
seo-url-spanish-name

But in frontent site in "locale select" I see following link (when I use deutsch version of site):
http://example.com/default/de/EUR/detai ... utsch-name
http://example.com/default/en/EUR/detai ... utsch-name
http://example.com/default/es/EUR/detai ... utsch-name

When I type the url of the product:
http://example.com/default/en/EUR/detai ... glish-name in the English version, it opens, but I see the following in the "locale select":
http://example.com/default/de/EUR/detai ... glish-name
http://example.com/default/en/EUR/detai ... glish-name
http://example.com/default/es/EUR/detai ... glish-name

That is, the selector is not working properly? Ainult muudatused http://example.com/default/locale_code/
Does it have no search for the current value of the url part for a specific language?

User avatar
aimeos
Administrator
Posts: 3415
Joined: 01 Jan 1970, 00:00

Re: translate current request (locale part in url)

Post by aimeos » 29 Jan 2019, 07:01

Aimeos supports localized product names in URLs but the locale selector doesn't have that information before switching the language. After switching from German to English, the name of the product in the URL will stay to German but if the customer clicks on another link, the URL will be completely in the new language then. There's currently no workaround for that and I would say it's only a minor issue which hardly anybody will notice.
Professional support and custom implementation are available at Aimeos.com
If you like Aimeos, Image give us a star

margeslt
Posts: 6
Joined: 18 Aug 2018, 17:18

Re: translate current request (locale part in url)

Post by margeslt » 07 Nov 2019, 17:45

Yes, users will not replace this moment. But search robots, for example google, will very well see.
In the process, a large number of incorrect URLs will form, and a multilingual site will not be correctly indexed.
At the same time, removing the wrong addresses after they appear in the index search engines is very problematic, when we have many products, categories and filters.

User avatar
aimeos
Administrator
Posts: 3415
Joined: 01 Jan 1970, 00:00

Re: translate current request (locale part in url)

Post by aimeos » 09 Nov 2019, 10:40

Each detail page contains a canonical URL which search engines will (should?) use.
Doesn't that work for you and do you have concrete problems with search engine entries?
Professional support and custom implementation are available at Aimeos.com
If you like Aimeos, Image give us a star

Post Reply